It forms part of the Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and is named after John Radcliffe, an 18th-century physician and Oxford University graduate, who endowed the Radcliffe Infirmary, the main hospital for Oxford from 1770 until 2007.
The Radcliffe Infirmary was a hospital in central north Oxford, England, located at the southern end of Woodstock Road on the western side, backing onto Walton Street. History [ edit ] The initial proposals to build a hospital in Oxford were put forward at a meeting of the Radcliffe Trustees, who were administering John Radcliffe 's estate valued at £4,000, in 1758.
Contact us. If you know the name of the service you need to contact see 'Departments and services' A-Z and 'Non-clinical departments'. For all other enquiries, please contact the switchboard : 0300 304 7777. Sign language users can contact us through InterpretersLive!
Infirmary and the radcliffe Observatory as well. The hospital opened on St Luke’s day (18 October) 1770, operating under strict rules that provided for The RI: a medical history As a new chapter in Oxford’s development begins to unfold on the Radcliffe Infirmary site, Andrew Moss reflects on its glorious past top: John Radcliffe presents
Building work on the original Radcliffe Infirmary began in 1759. It opened on St Luke's Day (18 October) 1770 and the burial ground was consecrated by the Bishop of Oxford on 30 November. Since then, the site has evolved to reflect the needs of the time. More details about the history of the site can be found on the From the 18th century page.
THE RADCLIFFE INFIRMARY (MAIN BLOCK), WOODSTOCK ROAD Listed on the National Heritage List for England. Search over 400,000 listed places Overview Official List Entry Comments and Photos Previous Overview Next Comments and Photos
16 lug 2010 · By February 1941, when Florey felt he had enough to begin trials in humans, he enlisted the help of a young doctor at the Radcliffe Infirmary in Oxford, Charles Fletcher. The first patient Albert Alexander, a 43-year-old policeman, was treated with penicillin on 12 February 1941.